You are only as good as your last show.

I performed my first show of 2008 last night in a new comedy club run by old friends. Jenny Ecair was on the bill – I haven’t seen her in years and she was in wonderful form. I was last on and did good. It’s nice to have a successful gig under my belt. Any performer will tell you that you are only as good as your last show and my last shows were rough. Here is a journal entry I wrote the last time I worked.

It’s Christmas eve and I’m in Pizza Express off of Tottenham Court Road. I’m in the middle of performing three shows for Crisis, a charity organization that houses homeless people at Christmas. I went to the first shelter earlier and it was just awful. Imagine walking into a very large cafeteria sporadically filled with homeless people and jumping on a stool and shouting, “Look at me,” and no one did. The only people paying attention were telling me to F*** off. Afterwards a couple of men patronizingly told me that I was good and this was a bad crowd. That’s when it occurred to me that homeless guys at Christmas were feeling sorry for me. It may not have been a good performance but at least I gave the gift of allowing an audience of very down and out people to be able to say – “Thank god I’m not him.”

Tags: ,

One Response to “You are only as good as your last show.”

  1. lizzie Says:

    Nice blog, but are you confusing basic truths and snappy slogan?
    The theatre has many of the latter; “there is no such thing as a bad audience” “the show must go on” “you are only as good as your last show”.
    All clearly not true though sometimes in the dressing room it may feel so.
    “Never pirouette with a runny nose” seems to stand the test of time though.
    It’s not really relevant but the old Swahili proverb “whoever swallows a whole coconut must have strong faith in their bum” is a personal fave.
    Keep going!

Leave a Reply

