The Maple Syrup Pundit

I have always thought that I would like to be a pundit. Mainly because I like the title – it’s not scholarly like ‘professor’ or self-aggrandizing like ‘expert’. I could live with the designation – ‘Pundit’.

Here in the UK I always thought it would be fun to be a US election pundit. I’m not completely unqualified: I follow US politics the way real men follow football, I did work as a grunt for Jimmy Carter’s campaign in Pennsylvania and I can string a sentence together. I always fantasized pundit-ing on the radio. A civilised median that they still call “The Wireless” over here and you don’t even have to comb your hair if you don’t want to.

Saying that, now that I have a venue for punditry – this blog – I realised I would be crap at it. My writing style is about boiling a lot of information down to very little – like making maple syrup. Where as a pundit must spout off forever about nothing. I’d be bad at it.

Even so I’ll give it a shot. Here is my breakdown of the US election so far.

It seems to me that most Democrats would be fine with any one of their candidates getting the nomination and the Republican’s don’t really like any of their lot.

What else should we talk about now.

Leave a Reply

