A Close Call

Ok, I admit it. Before I began wearing a new pair of socks every day I already had a couple of sock quarks. It started when I made Stuff the White Rabbit for the BBC. During the recording of the entire series I wore socks with the image of Bugs Bunny on them. (To be honest I still choose Bugs socks whenever I have a really important gig.) For a long time I would only perform if I had a cartoon character on my feet. This became impractical, so over time I have modified my personal rules so that whenever I performed on stage I made sure I wore a pair of two-toned socks. You may laugh but like the Tim Robbins character in the film Bull Duram, who wore woman’s underwear to improve his pitching, for me two toned socks are essential for comedy. It could be worse – I have known a lot of comics who couldn’t perform without alcohol or cocaine.

dogs-trust.jpg

So I had a lucky escape yesterday when I wore a pair of solid colour Dog’s Trust Socks to a gig. It was a last minute thing. The club owner had an act drop out on him and I pretty much just put on a clean shirt and left. I didn’t realise I wasn’t wearing a proper two-toned socks until I got there. I rationalized by saying to myself that the picture of the little cute dog constituted a tone but I was worried – it was touch and go. I’m still not sure if it was the sock gods or the magic gods but one of them let me slide this time – I did just fine. I promise I won’t do that again.


The Dog’s Trust Socks feel good and look even better in that bold yellow. 25% of the asking price goes to The Dog’s Trust a group that as well as finding stray dogs good homes also works to castrate and microchip dogs – something my Veterinarian refol says is a good idea. And one should never disagree with one’s refol.

The Dog’s Trust Socks are available from my favourite hosiery website – www.sockshop.co.uk.

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “A Close Call”

  1. DJ Kirkby Says:

    One of the lecturers at work was wearing these socks. Not the kindest of colours to wear while teaching a group of students with Monday-itis!

  2. Franny Says:

    love these, so bright i can’t look directly at them though!!

Leave a Reply

