I was off by a year.

I found this amazing website called Brucebase where somebody has compelled every gig Springsteen has done since 1965. I went looking and found this:

“25/05/74 – ARCHBISHOP JOHN CARROLL HIGH SCHOOL, RADNOR, PA

CANCELLED Springsteen concert, never rescheduled. At the time (1974) there were separate boys and girls schools located on the same property. The concert had been planned for the school’s 500-seat theater, which was utilized by both schools. However the student entertainment committee in charge of organizing the event was unable to sell enough tickets to pay the required deposit, so the gig was cancelled.”

So I was off by a year. That means I saw Bruce at the end of ’73 – when I was only five years old 🙂


2 Responses to “I was off by a year.”

  1. subgear Says:

    Wow. Amazing indeed. People who put up these kinds of websites have WAAAAAY too much time on their hands, but I’m glad they do. Seeing those images of the show posters from back then really takes you back, doesn’t it? They seem so, I don’t know, innocent, simple. It is a darn shame about that show being cancelled, but the replacement act, Brother Bielman’s Bombers, burned down the house!

  2. johnlenahan Says:

    While we grooved to the new dance craze – the Winky Walk.

Leave a Reply

