Happy Belated New Year

After a year of wearing a new pair of socks every day I was finally allowed, on January 1st, to don a pair of previously worn socks but I didn’t have any clean ones.  So I started 2009 with a fresh pair of socks but that’s where it ends.  I have yet to digest the worth of my year’s endeavours but when I do I’ll let you know if it’s something everyone should do.

First let me extend to all a belated Happy New Year and an apology for disappearing for most of December. The reason was that I was away on holiday in…. no wait let’s do a very easy “Where Am I?”

DSC00776

Any guesses?

For the first time ever, I took almost all of December off.  I swopped drunken Christmas party audiences, who, when they’re not heckling, are thinking,  I wish he would finish soon so I can grope Stefanie in accounting, (and to be honest, usually I’m thinking the same thing) for a trip down under to meet the Refol’s family.  It’s been a long time since I had to meet a girl’s parents and family and it was as stressful as I vaguely remember.  But after getting past her brother’s flatulence and her father’s opening conversational gambit, (“You know what’s wrong with America…?”)  I had a fab time down under.

I had delicious prawns and kangaroo on the barbie.  (I bought the meat and most of the Australians thanked me for the opportunity of trying kangaroo.)  I not only ate them, I actually saw a couple of the roos – DSC00817apparently they live on golf courses.

The highlight of the trip was a four day scuba diving boat trip on the Great Barrier Reef.  (Underwater I didn’t notice the brother’s flatulence.)

DSC00428 DSC00393 DSC00467 DSC00666

And there were sunsets and scenery

DSC00834 12 Apostles

and of course socks.

I wore the Sock Shop Yule socks for Christmas even if it was hot –

DSC00898

And I spent New Year eve in a fabulous pair of florescent safety work socks I found in a construction supply shop outside of Melbourne.

DSC00938

Thanks to all down under for extending me such hospitality and thanks to all of you dear readers for putting up with me ranting about my hosiery for the last 12 months.

Now what do you think about me wearing a new pair of underwear every day this year?

6 Responses to “Happy Belated New Year”

  1. Ventzi Zhechev Says:

    As long as it doesn’t delay your next book, you’re free to wear a new pair of underwear every day.
    However, I don’t think sending out worn underwear as prizes for Where am I? will be appropriate 🙂

    Ventzi Zhechev
    a.k.a. a stray Bulgarian in Ireland

  2. Andy Taylor Says:

    A very happy New Year to you too, John.

  3. nadene Says:

    NOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!

  4. David Brain Says:

    That would also necessitate renaming the blog, wouldn’t it? And somehow I think that “gratuitousbriefs” might produce the wrong sort of hits on search engines… (not that I’ve checked or anything, you understand.)

  5. Elaine Bancroft Says:

    You may get a load of lawyers logging on

  6. nadene Says:

    hilarious!

Leave a Reply

