Sorry I’ve been away so long.

Oh how disappointed I am with myself – I’m a blog-fader. At the beginning of 2008 I promised I would wear a new pair of socks every day and blog the experience. I succeeded with the sock wearing but fell down at the last straightaway when it came to writing about it. It’s a recurring theme of my life. Built deep into my psyche is a morbid propensity for not finishing projects. With my fiction this is an annual struggle. The last five chapters of both my novels were like swimming in molasses. With my blog I just skipped town at the end and – I’m sorry – I owe you guys a summery of what life is like with circadian pristine hosiery. If only to dissuade (or encourage) you from doing the same.

If you are thinking of recreating my experiment I can wholeheartedly – not recommend it. I once loved new socks because they were special, and as everyone knows when the special becomes daily, it’s no longer special. A lesson I learned with sweets at age five and should have remembered.

John Lennon said, “Life is what happens when you are making other plans.” Well for me, life was what I could squeeze in after: writing about, photographing, and/or thinking about socks. Like a squirrel constantly flitting around looking for nut, my life became all about socks.

Still that’s not why I don’t recommend you duplicating my four seasons of socks. The true reason I went off sock-a-day was because sock stopped being apparel and became omens. You see, when you wear a new pair of socks every day you gotta have a lot of cheap socks. I got the price down to 25p (35 cents) per foot but they weren’t the kind of socks one would like to wear to a party. For an event or a gig I wanted to wear a pair of the more salubrious socks that I had squirreled away in my sock drawer (drawers.) The problem was that every day I had to decide first thing what sort of day it was going to be. If I knew I was just going to dag around the house, I would put on a pair of M&S two for 50p-ers. If I had a film premier to go to (it could have happened) then I would wear a pair of the Sock Shop’s snazzy top-of-the-liners. But what if I wore good socks and never left my post code or what if Spielberg invited me to lunch and my hosiery budget for the day was under a pound?

I started to think that my morning sock decision was becoming a self fulfilling prophesy – or even scarier – my socks were determining my life. When you start fantasizing about your footwear starring in an episode of the Twilight Zone – it’s time to stop your sock project.

 

So I have dicovered  that a new pair of sock every day is a bad idea – Iguess that’s why nobody else does it.  I can wear any pair of socks I want at the moment and I like it. Don’t make the mistake I did kids. Keep your new socks special – and don’t do drugs.

Saying that, I’ve missed writing my blog and would like to start posting again. I have some news (especially about Shadowmagic books 1 & 2) and might even have a tale or two up my sleeve worth telling.

Hope you can be here to join me.

7 Responses to “Sorry I’ve been away so long.”

  1. RobC Says:

    Good to have you back, John!

    I’m about to have a massive sock clear-out after being lectured on the finer points of quality sock-buying by my girlfriend. Assuming I follow her advice, which shops would you recommend buying socks that don’t bobble or fall to bits after a couple of wears?

  2. Ventzi Zhechev Says:

    Hey John, nice to hear from you again!

    I was just at a Lúnasa concert here in the Button Factory in Dublin last Friday, actually. They were presenting their new album “The Leitrim Equation”.

    The concert was great and I even managed to exchange a few words with Kevin Crawford afterwards. I told him that I first heard the band on your podiobook and he was quite happy to hear that.
    He was also happy to hear that their piece “Bulgarian Rock” actually resembles Bulgarian folk music 🙂

  3. johnlenahan Says:

    Lúnasa in concert! I so jealous- it’s been 7 years for me. I gotta fix that.

  4. David Brain Says:

    Slacker. Mind you, it was only due to laziness that I hadn’t got around to deleting your RSS feed…

Leave a Reply

