Shadowmagic in Paperback Aug. 6th

Shadowmagic is out in paperback here in the UK on August 6th.   Here’s the new cover.paperback cover

 

I’ve been brainstorming about ways to drum up publicity.  The other day it occurred to me that since I got my publishing deal by podcasting on the internet, that maybe the science and technology sections of the newspapers would be interested.  Also the readers of tech sections probably read more fantasy then the readers of the book/arts section.  I decided to call the London Time’s technology editor and try to pitch him a story.

The Time’s switchboard put me through to the Tech Department.  A woman answered and I went straight into my spiel.  “Hello I’m John Lenahan.  I’m the author of a novel that at first no publisher was interested in and then I podcasted it on the net and …”  I went on like this for about four minutes.  She periodically tried to stop me but I plowed forward. 

Finally she said. “This is the tech department.” 

I explained that I knew that and told her that I felt the tech readers were more my audience than the arts readers. 

That’s when she said, “You don’t understand, this is the tech department.  We’re the people you call if your computer stops working or you spill coffee on your keyboard – but good luck with your book.”

Tags: , , , ,

4 Responses to “Shadowmagic in Paperback Aug. 6th”

  1. michele Says:

    Congratulations on the new book deal! The cover looks great. Very funny story. Did you try contacting the Times again?

  2. osirisoflight Says:

    hmm, tech departments can be tricky to deal with. I worked for one at the university I went to.

    I have to say I like the snazzy artwork for the paperback. I might have to buy a paperback copy as well.

  3. chris Says:

    Have you considered entering the Red Room?

    http://www.redroom.com/

  4. Stormy Says:

    I sent an email regarding the publicity brainstorm.

    As to The Times…couldn’t they tell that you were an outside call, and therefore unlikely to need their internal tech support? And how does “technology article” equal “my internets broke, fix it!”? >_<

Leave a Reply

