A lovely piece of dialog.

Buffy the Vampire Slayer was a program that I refused to watch because of it’s obvious banality.  My then young son wanted to watch it but we as concerned parents wouldn’t let him.  Then, as my wife and I were driving in the US listened to a highbrow arts review program on public radio, the presenter astonished us by claiming that Buffy was the best show on TV.  So we gave it a go and you know what?  They were right.  Humour, suspense, pop culture satire, subtle right of passage metaphors – this show had it all – along with a great cast and courageous writers and producers.  (They did one episode were no one talked and another that was a musical.)

I know I’m either preaching to the choir or to those who will never see it since it finished half a decade ago but I was reminded about how wonderful the show was when I happened on it today while channel flipping and I heard this lovely piece of dialog:

“You have to have patience.”

“I tried patience but it took too long.”

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

