I have a Wonderful Refol

As adverse as I am to public displays of emotion, I think it’s about time I mention that I have a girlfriend and her name is Nadene.

I never really liked the word girlfriend, even when I was just a boy dating girls – now the word just doesn’t seem to fit at all. I always admired how Shakespeare would just invent a word if he needed one and since so many of you tell me how much I remind you of the Bard, I’ve decided to make up a new word for my relationship with Nadene. From now on I shall refer to her as my Refol.

Refol – an acronym of – Reason For Living. Feel free to use it. I’m sure it will catch on.

So I have been seeing my refol Nadene for over a year. She is beautiful, caring, funny, smart and makes me very happy. Oh yea and she bought me a months supply of really nice socks.

nads-months-supply.jpg

Who says you can’t buy love?

JL

Tags: ,

13 Responses to “I have a Wonderful Refol”

  1. subgear Says:

    “My refol Nadene” is an anagram for “Fender Maloney”, an obscure hosier from 14th century Ireland, who first had the idea that one should change one’s socks at least once a year. COINCIDENCE???

  2. nadene Says:

    Wow, here’s me hoping JL doesn’t run into a woman who will buy him hundreds of pairs of jocks in 2009 or I’m a gonner! XX

  3. johnlenahan Says:

    Not true sweetheart. I wouldn’t abandon you for anything less than 250 pairs of socks. (or 25 cashmeres.)
    JL

  4. A Close Call « John Lenahan’s Year of Gratuitous Socks Says:

    […] stray dogs good homes also works to castrate and microchip dogs – something my Veterinarian refol says is a good idea. And one should never disagree with one’s […]

  5. Things Learned While Painting « John Lenahan’s Year of Gratuitous Socks Says:

    […] Learned While Painting My lovely REFOL Nadene is decorating while I am slaving away on a cruise ship here in the Caribbean. (I actually […]

  6. Jack and Bruce « John Lenahan’s Year of Gratuitous Socks Says:

    […] last night along with 60,000 other people at the Emirates Stadium here in London. Months ago my Refol Nadene offered to get me tickets and I said no, I don’t like big stadium concerts. But when my […]

  7. Sophisticated by Comparison « John Lenahan’s Year of Gratuitous Socks Says:

    […] of red wine, left over from a wine tasting. Not being proud we quaffed the leftovers. Nadene, my REFOL, proclaimed that the most expensive wine had, “A hint of caramel and fart.” Ah the joys […]

  8. Say Hello to Olive « John Lenahan’s Year of Gratuitous Socks Says:

    […] Hello to Olive. Olive is my Refol’s 105-year-old tortoise who is living with me now. Olive was unwell recently – a pair of […]

  9. Ten Decades of PMS « John Lenahan’s Year of Gratuitous Socks Says:

    […] by a common medical event – she was ovulating. This resulted in her being egg-bound, forcing my Refol Nadene cut a window in her underside shell and performing a hysterectomy. (Did I mention that my […]

  10. Munch-a-fest Destiny « John Lenahan’s Year of Gratuitous Socks Says:

    […] to blog.  Searching my gmail I came across a letter I wrote when I was away from my Australian Refol on Christmas Eve 2006.  I hardly remembered writing this and enjoyed reading it.  Hope you do […]

  11. Cheating Refol « John Lenahan’s Year of Gratuitous Socks Says:

    […] Cheating Refol My family has always had a little house on a lake in the Appalachian Mountains – that’s where I am now.  Since forever I have been photographing the lake at sunset but i have never gotten a pic like this one the Refol got. […]

  12. Hemingway-esq « John Lenahan’s Year of Gratuitous Socks Says:

    […] I may not be blogging much but I am writing. The Refol snuck this pic of me, just after dawn, in my mountain writing […]

  13. Happy Belated New Year « John Lenahan’s Year of Gratuitous Socks Says:

    […] (and to be honest, usually I’m thinking the same thing) for a trip down under to meet the Refol’s family.  It’s been a long time since I had to meet a girl’s parents and family and it was as […]

Leave a Reply

